Italy are the World Champions

Marcello Lippi celebrates with his players

Italy won the World Cup 2006 in penalties against the 10 men of France. The match was very exciting though France was a better team in the second half and the extra time. France took a early lead with Zidane’s penalty in the seventh minute. But Italy played a very fast game in the first game and equalised in the 19th minute. But after that the scored remained 1-1 through he second half as well as 30 minutes of extra time. In the second half of extra time France was down to 10 men after Zidane was showen red card as he shoved his head into Materazzi’s chest after the two had exchanged words with 10 minutes left of extra-time. The game went to penalty shoot out. Unlike in the past this time Italy took great penalty shots and scored all the five goals, whereas France missed their second goal taken by David Trezeguet. Italy is now the champions of 2006 and have lost only one less world cup than Brazil. Congratulation to Italy and all their fans around the world.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: