Zidane Is named the Best Player of World Cup 2006


Zinedine Zidane won the Golden Ball award for the World Cup’s best player, despite being dismissed for headbutting Marco Materazzi in the final. The former international player of the year and 1998 World Cup winner announced last month that he was retiring from football after the tournament. He put France ahead from the spot in the opening minutes but was sent off after slamming his head into Materazzi’s chest during the tense second period of extra time, which ended 1-1. “The vast majority of those votes were cast by journalists before the final was over and that I’m sure is why Zidane has come out top,”  “The reason the journalists voted for Zidane was this great emotional thing – everybody knew it was his last tournament and the final was his last game of football ever – but most people were dumbfounded to see what he did on Sunday.  Germany goalkeeper Oliver Kahn won the prestigious award in 2002, while other previous winners include Brazilians Ronaldo (1998) and Romario (’94), Italy’s Salvatore Schillaci (’90) and Argentine great Diego Maradona. Semi-finalists Portugal won Fifa’s most entertaining team award. German striker Lukas Podolski pipped Portuguese winger Ronaldo to be named the World Cup’s best young player. Italian Gianluigi Buffon was named the tournament’s best goalkeeper.


One Response to Zidane Is named the Best Player of World Cup 2006

  1. I was able to find good info from your blog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: